Posted by: wwyeshua | February 22, 2014

A WIFE FOR ISAAC – Genesis 24

14 Rebekah marries Isaac

Abraham lived to be a very old man. The Lord blessed him and everything he did because he was obedient to the Lord. His wife Sarah had died and he had buried her in the cave of Machpelah.

   1 Sarah's tomb                    

One day Abraham called his oldest servant who was in charge of everything he owned and said to him: “Promise to me before the Lord, the God of heaven and earth, that you will not allow my son Isaac to marry a girl from Canaan. We live among these people, but don’t let him marry a Canaanite girl.  I want you to go back to my country, to my own people, to find a wife for my son Isaac and when you find her bring her here to him.”

2 Abraham and Servant

So his servant asked him: “Maybe this woman will not want to come back with me to this land. If that happens, should I take Isaac with me to your homeland?”

Abraham said to him, “No, don’t take Isaac to that place because God promised that this new land would belong to my family and all my descendants.” The he said: “May God send his angel before you so that you can choose a wife for my son. If the girl refuses to come with you, you will be free from this promise. But you must not take Isaac back to that place.”

 3 Abrahma and Servant

So he promised Abraham that he would do his best to find a wife for Isaac and he started to prepare for his trip.

4 Map for Servant

He took ten of Abraham’s camels and some men with him and went on his way to Mesopotamia, to Nahor’s city. He also took with him many different kinds of beautiful gifts.

5 Servant at the well

After a long trip he arrived at his destination. And in the evening, when the women come out to get water, he went to the water well outside the city. He made the camels kneel down at the well and he waited.

6 Servant praying

Then he talked to the Lord in prayer and said, “Lord, you are the God of my master Abraham. Please show your kindness to my master by helping me find a wife for his son Isaac. I am here, standing by this well of water, and the young women from the city are coming out to get water. I am going to say to one of them, ‘Please put your jar down so that I can drink.’ Let how she answers show me whether she is the one You have chosen for your servant Isaac. If she says, ‘Drink, and I will also give water to your camels,’ I will know that she is the right one. It will be proof that you have shown me the right young women for my master’s son.”

7 Rebekah with pot of water

The Lord heard his sincere prayer and before he had even finished praying, a young woman named Rebekah came to the well. She was the daughter of Bethuel. (Bethuel was the son of Milcah and Nahor, Abraham’s brother.)  Like it was custom, Rebekah came to the well with her water jar on her shoulder to fill her jar. The servant noticed how pretty she was and he ran to her and said: “Please give me a little water to drink from your jar.”

8 Rebekah gives water

So Rebekah quickly lowered the jar from her shoulder and gave him a drink. She said, “Drink this, sir.” And as soon as she finished giving him something to drink, Rebekah said: “I will also pour some water for your camels.” So Rebekah quickly poured all the water from her jar into the drinking trough for the camels. Then she ran to the well to get more water, and she gave water to all the camels.

As she was doing all of these things, the servant quietly watched her. He wanted to be sure that the Lord had given him an answer and had made his trip successful. After the camels finished drinking, he gave Rebekah a gold ring and he also gave her two gold arm bracelets. Then he asked her: “Who is your father? And is there a place in your father’s house for me and my men to sleep?”

9 Servant asks Rebekah

Rebekah answered: “My father is Bethuel, the son of Milcah and Nahor and yes, we have straw and other food for your camels and a place for you to sleep.”

The the servant was so happy that he bowed and worshiped the Lord and thanked Him. He said: “Praise be to the Lord, the God of my master Abraham. The Lord has been kind and loyal to him by leading me to his own people.”

Then Rebekah ran and told her family about all these things. She told her brother Laban what the man had said to her and he listened and then he saw the ring and the bracelets on his sister’s arms, he ran out to the well. There was Abraham’s servant standing by the well with the camels.

10 Servant and Laban

When Laban saw him, he said: “Sir, you are welcome to come to our house; I have prepared a room for you to sleep in and a place for your camels.”

So Abraham’s servant went into the house. Meanwhile, Laban unloaded his camels and gave them straw and feed. Then he gave Abraham’s servant water so that he and the men with him could wash their feet. Laban then gave him food to eat, but the servant refused to eat. He said, “I will not eat until I have told you why I came.”

So Laban said, “Go ahead and tell us.”

11 Telling the story

And that is what the servant did, he told them: “I am Abraham’s servant. The Lord has greatly blessed my master in everything. My master has become a great man. The Lord has given him many flocks of sheep and herds of cattle. He has much silver and gold and many servants. He has many camels and donkeys. Sarah was my master’s wife. When she was very old, she gave birth to a son, and my master has given everything he owns to that son.”  And he continued: “My master made me to make a promise to him. He said to me, ‘You must not allow my son to marry a girl from Canaan. We live among these people, but I don’t want him to marry one of the Canaanite girls, so you must promise to go to my father’s country. Go to my family and choose a wife for my son.’ I said to my master, ‘Maybe the woman will not come back with me.’ But my master said to me, ‘I serve the Lord, and he will send his angel with you and help you. You will find a wife for my son among my people there.’ Then he told me: “But if you go to my father’s country, and they refuse to give you a wife for my son, you will be free from this promise.”

Then he told them what had happened when he met Rebekah. When he was finished he said: “Now, tell me, will you be kind and loyal to my master and give him your daughter? Or will you refuse to give her to him? Tell me so that I will know what I should do.”

12 Rebekah

Then Laban and Bethuel answered, “We see that this is from the Lord, so there is nothing we can say to change it. Here is Rebekah, take her to Isaac and let her marry your master’s son. This is what the Lord wants.”

When Abraham’s servant heard this, he bowed to the ground before the Lord. Then he gave Rebekah the gifts he brought. He gave her beautiful clothes and gold and silver jewelry. He also gave expensive gifts to her mother and brother. Then he and his men had something to eat and drink, and they spent the night there. Early the next morning they got up and the servant said, “Now we must go back to my master.”

Rebekah’s mother and her brother said, “Let Rebekah stay with us for a short time. Let her stay with us ten days. After that she can go.” But the servant said to them, “Please don’t make me wait since the Lord has made my trip successful and I want to go back to my master.”

Then they said: “We will call Rebekah and ask her what she wants to do.” So they called Rebekah and asked her, “Do you want to go with this man now?” And Rebekah said, “Yes, I will go.”

13 Rebekah goes to Isaac

So they allowed Rebekah to go with Abraham’s servant and his men. Her companion also went with them. And when Rebekah was leaving they blessed her. Then she and her companion got on the camels and followed the servant and his men to her new home.

One evening Isaac went out to the field to think and when he looked up he saw the camels coming from far away. Rebekah also looked and saw Isaac so she asked the servant:  “Who is that young man walking in the field to meet us?”  And he said, “That is my master’s son.” So Rebekah got off her camel and covered her face with her veil.

14 Rebekah marries Isaac

When Isaac arrived, the servant told him everything that had happened. Then Isaac greeted Rebekah and took her into his mother’s tent. Rebekah became Isaacs wife that day and he loved her very much.

* * * * * * *

Goodbye, until next time; when we will learn more about Isaac and Rebekah’s twin sons, Esau and Jacob.

Until then, remember to say your prayers obey your mom and dad and do not forget to go to church and Sunday school next week.  

  * * * * * * *

end english 1

ENGLISH

end english 2

* * * * * * *

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

