Posted by: wwyeshua | March 16, 2014

JACOB’S DREAM – Genesis 27:46 – 28:22

004-jacob-dream 2

Esau was not very happy with his brother Jacob for what he had done to him; well I don’t blame him do you?

First, Jacob cheated Esau out of his birthright for a bowl of soup and now Jacob had stolen his father’s last blessing. Esau was so mad that he had made up his mind that he would kill his brother Jacob as soon as their father had died.

011-jacob-deceives 2
Since Rebekah knew of Esau’s intentions she told Jacob that he had to go. She told him to go back to his grandfather’s homeland, and stay with his Uncle Laban until his brother had cooled off.

Now, Esau had married two Hittite young women from the land of Canaan where he and his family were now living. These women did not follow the God of Abraham and Isaac and they were making life miserable for Rebekah.

So Rebekah came to Isaac and said, “If Jacob marries one of these Canaanite women, I might as well be dead, I will be so miserable! Please send him to my brother’s family to find a wife there.”

This was a great excuse to have Isaac send Jacob away.

002-jacob-dream

But before he sent Jacob to his uncle Laban’s, Isaac called him and blessed him and told him: “You must not marry a Canaanite woman. So go to Haaran to the house of Bethuel, your mother’s father. Laban, your mother’s brother, lives there. Marry one of his daughters.  I pray that God All-Powerful will bless you and give you many children. I pray that you will become the father of a great nation and that God will bless you and your children the same way he blessed Abraham. And I pray that you will own the land where you live. This is the land God gave to Abraham.”

001-jacob-dream

Early the next morning Jacob loaded his donkeys and left Beersheba for the Land of Haran, the home of his uncle.

As the sun was setting on the first day of his journey, Jacob stopped to set up camp for the night. He found a stone to put under his head and covered himself with his blanket and fell asleep.

003-jacob-dream 2

That night Jacob had the most amazing dream.

He dreamed there was a ladder that was on the ground and reached up into heaven.

 004-jacob-dream 2

He saw the angels of God going up and down the ladder. And then Jacob saw the Lord standing by the ladder. He said, “I am the Lord, the God of your grandfather Abraham. I am the God of Isaac. I will give you the land that you are resting on now. I will give this land to you and to your children.

 005-jacob-dream 2

You will have as many descendants as the dust on the earth. They will spread east and west, north and south. All the families on earth will be blessed because of you and your descendants.”

 “I am with you, and I will protect you everywhere you go. I will bring you back to this land. I will not leave you until I have done what I have promised.”

 006-jacob-dream 2

Then Jacob woke up in the middle of the night and said, “I know that the Lord is in this place, but I did not know he was here until I slept.” 

Jacob was afraid and said, “This is a very great place. This is the house of God. This is the gate to heaven.” Then he went back to sleep and got up very early in the morning.

007-jacob-dream 2 

He took the rock he had used as a pillow and set it up on its edge. Then he poured oil on the rock. In this way he made it a memorial to God and he named the place Bethel which means ‘God’s house’.

 009-jacob-dream 2

Then Jacob made a promise. He said, “If God will be with me, and if He will protect me on this trip, and if He gives me food to eat and clothes to wear, and if I return in peace to my father’s house; if he does all these things, then the Lord will be my God.”

 010-jacob-dream 2

Than he said: “I am setting this stone up as a memorial stone. It will show that this is a holy place for God, and I will give God one-tenth of all he gives me.”

Then Jacob packed up his things and went on his way, because he still had a very long way to go.

011-jacob-dream

And God was with him.

* * * * * * *

Goodbye, until next time; when we will learn about what happened when Jacob arrived at his uncle Laban’s place.

Until then, remember to say your prayers obey your mom and dad and do not forget to go to church and Sunday school next week. 

  * * * * * * *

end english 1

ENGLISH

end english 2

* * * * * * *

Leave a Reply

Categories

