Posted by: wwyeshua | September 17, 2014

LIVING IN HARMONY – Ephesians 4:32

Ephesians

The Bible tells us to “be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.” (Ephesians 4:32) 

 Two farmers and their father

Once upon a time, there were two brothers. Their father had a large farm and when he became too old to work, he called his two sons and told them. “I am too old to continue working, I will divide my farm in half and give each one of you half. I know that you will always work together and will always be good friends.”

 Farm 1

When the brothers first started farming on their piece of the farm, they were the best of friends and would share everything together.

Brotherly friendship

Then, one day there was a disagreement between the two brothers and they stopped speaking to one another.

 boys fiting

For many years, not a word was spoken between them.

 cartoons_sunrise_02_vector_156421

One day, early in the morning, one of the brothers was at his house when a carpenter came to his door and said, “I would like to do some work. Do you have any work that I can do?”

 august1231

The brother thought for a moment and then replied, “I would like for you to build a fence on my property. Build it down there near the stream that separates my farm from my brother’s property.

 Farm 2 ws

I don’t want to see my brother any more and I would like for you to build a high fence there please. I’m going into town and I’ll be back later this afternoon.

returning home ws 

When he came back that afternoon, he was shocked to see that the carpenter had not followed his instructions. Instead of building a high fence, he had built a bridge over the stream.

 Bridge over creek

The man walked down to take a look at the bridge, and as he did, his brother who was wondering what was being built walked down to the bridge to see what was happening. When he saw his brother, he walked toward him from the other side and said: “After all the terrible things I’ve done to you over the years, I can’t believe that you would build a bridge and welcome me back.”

 2 brothers making peace

 He reached out to his brother and gave him a big hug. 

The brother then walked back up to his farmhouse to talk to the carpenter.

 bob_04

“Can you stay?” he asked. “I have more work for you to do.” The carpenter answered, “I’m sorry but I can’t stay. I have to go, for I have many other bridges to build.” 

Sometimes we have a disagreement with our brothers and sisters. When that happens, we often build a fence between ourselves and them.

 Fence

We stop talking to them. We don’t want to see them. We don’t want to be around them. But that isn’t what Jesus wants us to do. He said that “we should love one another, as He loves us, (John 15:12). Instead of fences, Jesus wants us to build a bridge of love between us.

 http://www.dreamstime.com/royalty-free-stock-photo-image32487655

Dear Father, we know it is Your desire for us to learn to live together in peace and harmony. Help us to love one another. Amen. 

* * * * * * * 

Goodbye, until next time. Until then, remember to say your prayers obey your mom and dad and do not forget to go to church and Sunday school next week.  

* * * * * * *

end english 1

ENGLISH

end english 2

* * * * * * *

 This Story was Adapted from an Unknown Author

Leave a Reply

Categories

